Our curriculum

We follow the revised Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS) as required by Ofsted from September 2012. The following principles are taken from this document and underpin our delivery of EYFS at Hedgehogs.

A Unique Child
 Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships
Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents/carers and/or keyperson.

Enabling Environment
The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.

Characteristics of Effective Learning
We believe that the way in which a child engages with their environment and other people is vital to their learning and development. We plan to embrace and encourage the Characteristics of Effective Learning which are:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically

The curriculum is divided into 7 areas of Learning Development.

These are the fundamental areas that we focus on until a child reaches their third birthday ( this is flexible depending on the needs of the child ). These are Personal Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language, Physical Development.

These include the essential skills that enrich children's knowledge in society. We include these areas from the age of three (this is flexible depending on the needs of the child). These areas are Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.